The 5 Love Languages You Need to Practice in Your Relationship

You express your affection and love to your significant other regularly. However, do you take time to ensure that you are communicating how your spouse wants to receive it? This is an essential question because love can get lost in translation when two partners are speaking different love languages. Even when you’re just getting started with a Hookup Date, you still need to understand how to approach the other person and how to understand him or her.

Many of us have heard about the ‘five languages of love’; are love languages real? Most definitely, they are real. Every individual today receives and gives love in different ways. Understanding these differences can help your relationship grow and blossom. It is one of the simplest ways. The term ‘love languages’ was termed by Gary Chapman for his book ‘The Five Love Languages’. In this article, we will read about these languages in brief.

What Are The Five Love Languages?

There are five love languages that you need to know. These languages are very straightforward as well. They include:

  1.   Word Of Affirmation

People that relate to words of affirmation look for a verbal connection. They want to hear what you are saying with full attention and what you admire or appreciate about them. Some examples of what love languages go best together include – ‘I loved the dinner you cooked yesterday’, etc.


If you are in a long-distance relationship and unable to see your beloved in person, you can simply send a short video to them. You should know that even the tiniest gesture matters.

  1.   Acts Of Service

Some people feel love and appreciation when you lend a helping hand or do something kind. For instance, you could shovel their driveway for a friend who is hospitalized. These are some examples of acts of service.

When you are at home, you can try to be more proactive and lift some responsibilities off someone else’s shoulders. Or, you could get a chore done that everyone at home avoids, like running the dishwasher, scraping ice off the car, changing the litter box, cleaning the oven, etc. If you know someone that relates to acts of service, you can send a loving and clear message to them by scanning the environment intentionally to understand what things need to be done to make the settings better.

  1.   Receiving Gifts

Of course, there is nothing materialistic about receiving gifts. In fact, receiving gifts can be someone else’s love language. When you present them with something, whether it is tangible or intangible, you will make them feel special. After all, it is the thought that counts. Receiving gifts is the language that answers the question – can different love languages work?


Whether you are picking up your roommate’s favourite pizza or groceries for your family, all these count as receiving gifts for your partner or for whomever you are doing so. Some great examples of this love language include a framed picture of you and your family or partner, gift cards for coffee or cake, a package that contains their favourite chocolates or valentine cards, etc.

  1.   Quality Time

Most people have this question – are love languages how you show love? In fact, they do. Spending quality time is one of the most obvious love languages today. It is the ability to have your undivided and dedicated attention that some people treasure the most. While in the times of the COVID-19, spending quality time can be difficult. However, thanks to the advancements made in the world of technology, you can easily spend some quality time with your parents/partner.

If you want to spend quality time with your partner, you can visit their house or vice versa. If you live far-off, you can also take the initiative of organizing coffee dates. You can also use the traditional phone call each week with your best friend. When you are talking to one another, ensure that there are no distractions.

  1.   Physical Touch

Physical touch is the most compatible love language if you want to know which love languages are compatible. This can range anywhere from a fist bump with your best friend to a romantic kiss to your partner.


When you are with your friends, family, or partner, ensure that you hug them every once in a while. If you live far away, you can try getting creative. Try to email an outline of your hand and instruct them to place their hands on the picture while imagining that they are holding hands. While it may sound weird, it is the best solution you have for now.

Final Thoughts

Compared to people who think about what to do when your love languages are different, you do not have to do anything. These five languages of love are universal and can be experienced by people all around the world. All you need to do is start observing how you interact and “talk” with your significant other.

Did you use this approach in your relationship? Let us know in the comments!

Post Author: Miranda Davis

Miranda Davis is a freelance writer in relation and psychology area. Miranda is interested in such topics as building healthy relationships between people, love/sex compatibility, and how to find the right balance in life in general. She is currently doing specific research on the topic. Miranda loves cooking and long-distance walking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.