Cursed on Netflix: Showrunner reveals major ‘backstory’ changes from book to series

13 Reasons Why star Katherine Langford faces off against Ozark and Westworld’s Peter Mullan in an exciting new spin on the King Arthur Legend. Before the first season is released on Netflix, the series’ head writer has explained some dramatic changes from book to screen, including an inventive take on the wizard Merlin, played by Vikings favourite Gustaf Skarsgård.

» Top New Products

Persuasion Skills Black Book
cs_image_0

Learn  powerful  Nlp  and  Hypnotic  Language  Patterns  for  Persuasion                                                                       

$47.00
Production Scheduling Excel
cs_image_1

Scheduler123  :  Excel-based  Finite  Production  Scheduling  Software.                                                                     

$99.25
Wp Social Widget V2
cs_image_2

Create  Different  Social  Media  Contents  To  Increase  Your  Social  Network  Traffic.                                         

$67.00
Complete English Grammar Rules
cs_image_3

The  Most  Comprehensive  Guide  To  English  Grammar  In  Everyday  Speech  And  Writing.                                         

$9.99
Transform-37 - Focus. Aim. Achieve
cs_image_4

Dr.Mani's  'TRANSFORM  37'  personal  development  program.                                                                                           

$111.00
Chakra Tree Of Life Necklace
cs_image_5

Get  your  FREE  Chakra  Tree  of  Life  Necklace                                                                                                                   

$0.00
Fight Ready Training Program
cs_image_6

Helps  You  Acquire  The  Power,  Strength  And  Endurance  Of  An  Elite  MMA  Fighter                                                 

$67.00
How To Sell Domain Names
cs_image_7

THE  FIRST  PLAIN  and  SIMPLE  DOMAIN  FLIPPING    and    SELL  MY  WEBSITE  GUIDE  ONLINE.                                           

$37.00
Trusted FX Signals
cs_image_8

Join  us  to  see  how  our  high  performance  trading  signals  could  revolutionize  your  Forex  Trading.         

$97.00
Trump 2020 Gold Plated Coin
cs_image_9

Show  Your  Patriotic  Support  For  Our  President  With  Gold  Plated  Presidential  Victory  Coin                       

$0.00
SEOPressor - Best SEO Wordpress Plugin
cs_image_10

A  tool  that  will  turn  your  WordPress  site  into  a  powerful  marketing  machine                                                 

$47.00
Cat spraying no more
cs_image_11

Learn  how  to  stop  your  cat  peeing  outside  the  litter  box                                                                                       

$37.00

Brand new fantasy drama Cursed is the latest series to take on the iconic King Arthur legend.

In the first season, based on Tom Wheeler and Frank Miller’s illustrated Young Adult novel, the story turns the clock back to before Arthur ascends the throne.

Young sorceress Nimue (played by Katherine Langford) is outcast for her magical gifts, and must take on the sinister Red Paladins.

She then stumbles upon a young mercenary named Arthur (Devon Terrell) and a mysterious quest to find Merlin (Gustaf Skarsgård) and deliver a powerful sword.

READ MORE: Cursed Netflix release date: How many episodes are in Cursed?

The 10-episode series will be available on Friday 17 July and is set to become the next essential summer watch for streaming giant Netflix.

Fresh from her roles in 13 Reasons Why and Knives Out, Katherine Langford is positioned as a brand new fantasy heroine for fans of Game of Thrones and The Witcher.

Cursed will follow the original novel fairly closely, but writer and producer Tom Wheeler has revealed the series has had to make some pivotal changes.

During a preview for TV Insider, Wheeler detailed the series’ premise and promised Cursed’s original readers will still have plenty of surprises to look forward to.

She then embarks on a strange and perilous quest, but Wheeler warns the adventure won’t exactly align with the plot of his original novel.

He continued: “As we began to break down the book chapters and images and shape them into episodes, some events shifted back or were moved forward.

“Plus, we found avenues and opportunities to expand on the world and our characters’ backstories. This will be most noticeable as it relates to Arthur, Morgana (Shalom Brune-Franklin) and Sister Iris (Emily Coates).”

Certain characters will become very familiar to anyone who has read up on their Arthurian legends, but with a number of new twists.

Wheeler added: “We were conscious not to contradict the novel, but we did try to fill in areas the book had not fully explored.”

Plus, a tragic and undisclosed death is said not to occur in the first season, leaving the door open for an even sadder ending down the line.

The showrunner teased: “One character’s life was spared through the passionate lobbying of the writers!”

Cursed is available July 17 on Netflix.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Post Author: martin

Avatar
Martin is an enthusiastic programmer, a webdeveloper and a young entrepreneur. He is intereted into computers for a long time. In the age of 10 he has programmed his first website and since then he has been working on web technologies until now. He is the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of BriefNews.eu and PCHealthBoost.info Online Magazines. His colleagues appreciate him as a passionate workhorse, a fan of new technologies, an eternal optimist and a dreamer, but especially the soul of the team for whom he can do anything in the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.