Japan protests Russia naming 5 uninhabited Kuril islets

Tokyo issued a formal diplomatic protest after Russia’s prime minister gave names to five uninhabited islets in the Kuril chain. Japan still claims sovereignty over some of the islands in the chain, which it lost to Russia following World War II.

» Top New Products

Winning Pai Gow Poker Money

Learn  20  Profit  Secrets  and  the  Correct  ways  to  set  Low    and    High  hands                                                       

Witchcraft Secret Manual

You  can  fulfill  your  dreams  once  and  for  all,  without  spending  more  money  on  systems.                             

Wordpress Groupbuy Theme

Create  your  own  online  daily  deals  website  like  groupon.                                                                                       

The real racing simulator

Do  you  want  to  experience  the  world's  most  realistic  car  racing  game?                                                             

Help To Get Pregnant

Need  help  to  get  pregnant,  the  answers  exist,  get  the  plan  here.                                                                       

Testing Electronic Component

        Become  A  Professional  Electronic  Repairer                                                                                                             

Presentation Design Secrets

Learn  How  To  Design  Amazing  Presentations  And  Crushing  More  Business  Deals.                                                 

Job Interview Answers?

Word-for-Word  Exactly  What  You  Need  To  Say  To  Get  Hired  -  Check  it  out                                                           

Be the Badass, Get the Girl

Ever  Wonder  Why  Some  Guys  Get  the  Girl?  Want  to  Know  How  You  Can  Too?                                                             

Matlab Algorithmic Trading App

MATLAB  App  for  Advanced  Algorithmic  Trading  Strategies  Development  in  Minutes,  not  Months.                   

Erotic Travel Guide

Discover  The  Ultimate  Resource  For  Your  Secret  Lifestyle  Vacation  From  True  Lifestylers.                       

Natural colic relief

An  easy,  simple  and  extremely  effective  method  of  natural  colic  relief  that  really  works.                     


On Saturday, the head of the Russian government, Dmitry Medvedev, signed a decree naming five small islands of the Kuril Islands. Japan was predictably irritated by the move, as it has repeatedly protested any manifestation of Moscow’s sovereignty over what Tokyo calls it “northern territories.”

“(The naming) goes against our country’s stance and is extremely regrettable. Japan lodged a protest Monday through a diplomatic channel,” Chief Cabinet Secretary Yoshihide Suga told a press conference, Kyodo reports.

Read more

Russian President Vladimir Putin (L) and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe attend their joint press conference at Abe's official residence in Tokyo, Japan, December 16, 2016 © Franck Robichon

The dispute over sovereignty of the Kuril Islands has lingered since the end of World War II. Russia justifies its ownership based on the San Francisco Peace Treaty of 1951, which abolished Japan’s sovereignty over the 56 islands that form the Kuril chain. However, Tokyo insists that four are not part of the archipelago and should be returned to its control.

The issue has been high on the agenda of Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe. Over the past few months, it has been widely reported that the government of Japan and Russia have been working on new proposals to end the decades-old spat.

Russia has repeatedly made it clear that sovereignty of the islands is not subject to discussion, but has express willingness to conclude a peace treaty. As negotiations are already underway, Suga affirmed that bilateral territorial negotiations should proceed as planned, despite the regrettable naming incident.

“Such a problem is the very reason why it is important to resolve the issue of the Northern Territories. Japan will move negotiations forward tenaciously,” Suga said.

On Saturday, Medvedev signed a decree naming two of the five islands in honor of famous Soviet generals. One was named after Lieutenant General Kuzma Derevianko, a Ukrainian-born commander who took part in the battle of Kursk and later helped liberate Hungary and Austria. He was also the Soviet Union’s representative at the signing of the armistice ending the Pacific War.

The other was named after Lieutenant General Aleksey Gnechko, a Hero of the Soviet Union who helped develop the strategy to capture the Kuril islands from the Japanese at the end of WWII.

READ MORE: Territorial claims come from Tokyo, not Moscow, Putin tells Japanese reporters

Three other islands were named after former Minister of Foreign Affairs (1957–1985) Andrey Gromyko, former governor of Sakhalin Oblast, Igor Pavlovich Farkhutdinov (1995-2003), and Anna Shchetinina, a Soviet merchant marine who was the world’s first woman to serve as captain of an ocean-going vessel.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

RT – Daily news

Post Author: martin

Martin is an enthusiastic programmer, a webdeveloper and a young entrepreneur. He is intereted into computers for a long time. In the age of 10 he has programmed his first website and since then he has been working on web technologies until now. He is the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of BriefNews.eu and PCHealthBoost.info Online Magazines. His colleagues appreciate him as a passionate workhorse, a fan of new technologies, an eternal optimist and a dreamer, but especially the soul of the team for whom he can do anything in the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.